Is It Time For A Rest Day?

cute-dog-sleeping

I can’t read your blog post I’m busy resting.

Once a week I take a day off from exercise. I rarely schedule in my rest days unless I have an event to go to or am travelling. For the most part I just go with how I feel, both physically and mentally.

When I woke up this morning the desire to exercise was there and this was a great feeling. It was a sign that I’m enjoying my current workout routine (which you can read more about here) and that exercise is becoming more and more a daily habit that I look forward to. Despite this, my body was telling a different story. I was tired and sore and this could only mean one thing, It was rest day.

Recently I read this interesting article by Jonathan Ross, an Author and Personal Trainer who talks about the importance of rest days, how often you should rest and what to do on your days off.

A few points that I found particularly interesting.

“An appropriate workout creates a sense of mild soreness, where you can feel that the muscles experienced a challenge; it should not be a debilitating, painful soreness that lasts for several days.”
“Rest can certainly include some movement as long as it avoids the threshold of providing a challenge to the body. Even lighter workouts can be useful as their main benefit will be to enhance circulation.”
“It is wise to allow a recovery day or lighter workout day at least every three to five days.”

I found the last point really interesting as I often have my rest day in the middle of the week. I’m definitely going to experiment with this and see if I notice any changes with mixing up my rest days.

Question of the Day
How often you take rest days? What do you like to do on your days off? Let me know in the comments below đŸ™‚

LEAVE A REPLY

