Delicious Vegan Chocolate Chip Cookies

vegan-chocolate-chip-cookies
I was in the mood to bake this morning and couldn’t resist trying out a new recipe from the latest cookbook in my collection ‘Chloe’s Vegan Desserts’. The Author, Chloe Coscarelli was the first vegan winner of the TV program Cupcake Wars and has several books including a new Italian cookbook which I’m dying to get my hands on!

chloes-vegan-desserts-cookbook
Flipping through the pages I was spoilt for choice with more than 100 recipes to choose from including cupcakes, cookies, pies and even a cupcake recipe for dogs! I promised Oscar that ‘Pupcakes’ are next on the list.

oscar

Where Are My Pupcakes?

I opted for the classic chocolate chip cookie and let me tell you these babies didn’t disappoint. I did make a few tweaks to the recipe mainly because my oven is super super hot. But I have listed the original recipe below with a few tips.

If you like the chewy, melt in your mouth types cookies you’re going to love these.

vegan-chocolate-chip-cookie

Vegan Chocolate Chip Cookies
Makes 60 x 2 1/2-inch cookies

Ingredients
2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
1 tablespoon cornstarch or arrowroot
1 teaspoon baking soda
3/4 teaspoon salt
1 cup vegan margarine (You could use Earth Balance or Nuttelex)
3/4 cup brown sugar
3/4 cup white sugar
1/4 cup water
1 tablespoon pure vanilla extract
1 1/2 cups dairy-free milk (semisweet) chocolate chips (I used Sweet William chocolate chips)

Directions
1. Preheat the oven to 180 degrees celsius (350 degrees fahrenheit). Line 2-3 baking sheets with parchment paper or baking mats.
2. In a medium bowl, sieve and whisk together the flour, cornstarch, baking soda and salt. Set aside.
3. In a large bowl, use a stand or hand-held mixer to beat together the margarine, brown sugar, white sugar, water and vanilla extract until fluffy.
4. Slowly beat in the flour mixture.
5. Once the flour mixture in incorporated, add your chocolate chips.
6. Scoop about 1 rounded tablespoon of dough at a time onto the prepared baking sheets, leaving about 2 inches between each scoop.
7. Bake for approximately 10-12 minutes or until the edges are golden. Let cool on the pan and serve.

Recipe Tips

1. I lowered the temperature of the oven to 140 degrees celsius (284 degrees fahrenheit) as I noticed the cookies were browning too much on top.
2. I baked the cookies for approximately 8 minutes.When making cookies, always cook by eye and remove from oven when they are still soft and not completely set. They will continue to cook as they cool.
3. Cookie dough can be made in advanced and refrigerated for up to 1 week or frozen for up to 1 month.

2 thoughts on “Delicious Vegan Chocolate Chip Cookies

LEAVE A REPLY

